## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## IN SUPREME COURT

C9-81-1206

PROMULGATION OF AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

**ORDER** 

WHEREAS, the Joint Legal Services Access and Funding Committee filed a petition with this Court that recommended amendments to Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court held a hearing on the proposed amendments on January 21, 1997, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has reviewed the recommendations and is fully advised in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys is amended as follows:

## RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such admission, with exception hereafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of One Hundred Fiftyseven Dollars (\$157.00) Two Hundred and Seven Dollars (\$207.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter determine.

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April, July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts.

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

\$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

\$110.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

\$20.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund

\$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of One Hundred Eighty-two Dollars (\$182.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-Five Dollars (\$25.00),

- **B.** The following attorneys and judges shall pay <u>an</u> annual registration fee of Fifty-one Dollars (\$51.00) One Hundred and One Dollars (\$101.00):
- (a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state;
- (b) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years;

(e)(b) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States.

The One Hundred and One Dollars (\$101.00) so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

\$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

\$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board \$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Seventy-six Dollars (\$76.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-Five Dollars (\$25.00).

C. Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years shall pay an annual registration fee of Ninety-six Dollars (\$96.00).

The Ninety-Six Dollars (\$96.00) so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

\$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

\$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

\$20.00 to the Client Security Fund

\$25.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Eighty-three dollars and fifty cents (\$83.50). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twelve Dollars and fifty cents (\$12.50),

**D.** Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, or who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the

practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee.

- Example Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, who no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts that he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. A judge claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes service on the bench or the active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee.
- 2. The increase in attorney registration fees shall be effective for licenses due for renewal on July 1, 1997, and for new licenses issued on or after July 1, 1997.

DATED: February 5, 1997

BY THE COURT:

1 Leith

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

FEB 6 1997

A.M. Keith Chief Justice

FILED